European Parliament overwhelmingly backs terms of UK’s exit

Members of the European Parliament have overwhelmingly backed the terms of the UK’s departure from the EU. MEPs ratified the Brexit Withdrawal Agreement by 621 votes to 49 following an emotional debate in Brussels.

Britain will then leave the bloc on Friday at 23:000 (GMT).

Ireland, which is not part of the UK, will remain a member of the bloc, while Northern Ireland, Wales and Scotland will exit along with Britain.
The European Parliament is expected to ratify the terms of Britain’s exit from the European Union, meaning Brexit will finally be confirmed, three and a half years after the referendum.

Facebook Comments Box